Shadow divers : the true adventure of two Americans who risked everything to solve one of the last mysteries of World War II
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
New York : Random House, c2004.
Format:
Book
Edition:
1st ed.
Physical Desc:
xi, 375 pages, [24] pages of plates ; ill. (some col.), 24 cm.
Status:
Essex Adult Nonfiction
940.54 KUR
Description
In the tradition of Jon Krakauer's Into Thin Air and Sebastian Junger's The Perfect Storm comes a true tale of riveting adventure in which two weekend scuba divers risk everything to solve a great historical mystery--and make history themselves. For John Chatterton and Richie Kohler, deep wreck diving was more than a sport. Testing themselves against treacherous currents, braving depths that induced hallucinatory effects, navigating through wreckage as perilous as a minefield, they pushed themselves to their limits and beyond, brushing against death more than once in the rusting hulks of sunken ships. But in the fall of 1991, not even these courageous divers were prepared for what they found 230 feet below the surface, in the frigid Atlantic waters sixty miles off the coast of New Jersey: a World War II German U-boat, its ruined interior a macabre wasteland of twisted metal, tangled wires, and human bones--all buried under decades of accumulated sediment. No identifying marks were visible on the submarine or the few artifacts brought to the surface. No historian, expert, or government had a clue as to which U-boat the men had found. In fact, the official records all agreed that there simply could not be a sunken U-boat and crew at that location. Over the next six years, an elite team of divers embarked on a quest to solve the mystery. Some of them would not live to see its end. Chatterton and Kohler, at first bitter rivals, would be drawn into a friendship that deepened to an almost mystical sense of brotherhood with each other and with the drowned U-boat sailors--former enemies of their country. As the men's marriages frayed under the pressure of a shared obsession, their dives grew more daring, and each realized that he was hunting more than the identities of a lost U-boat and its nameless crew. Author Robert Kurson's account of this quest is at once thrilling and emotionally complex, and it is written with a vivid sense of what divers actually experience when they meet the dangers of the ocean's underworld. The story of Shadow Divers often seems too amazing to be true, but it all happened, two hundred thirty feet down, in the deep blue sea.
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Essex Adult Nonfiction
940.54 KUR
On Shelf
Location
Call Number
Status
Branford/Blackstone Adult Nonfiction
940.54 KUR
On Shelf
East Haddam/Rathbun A Adult Nonfiction
940.54 KUR
Due Oct 30, 2019
East Hampton Adult Nonfiction
940.54 KUR
On Shelf
East Lyme Public Adult Non-Fiction
940.5451 Kurson
Due Oct 30, 2019
Haddam/Brainerd Adult Nonfiction
940.5451 KUR
Due Oct 30, 2019
Hamden/Miller Adult Nonfiction 800-999
940.545/KUR
On Shelf
Hamden/Whitneyville Adult Nonfiction
940.545/KUR
On Shelf
Ivoryton Adult Nonfiction
940.54 Kur
On Shelf
Ledyard/Bill Nonfiction
940.54 Kur
Due Oct 30, 2019
Ledyard/Gales Ferry Nonfiction
940.54 Kur
Due Oct 30, 2019
Meriden Adult Non-Fiction
940.5451 KU
In Transit
Middlefield/Coe Adult Collection
940.5451 KURSON
On Shelf
Middletown/Russell Adult Nonfiction
940.5451 KUR
Due Oct 30, 2019
North Branford/Atwater Adult Nonfiction
940.54 Kurson
On Shelf
North Haven Adult Nonfiction
940.5451 Kurson
On Shelf
Norwich/Otis Adult Nonfiction
940.5451 KUR
Due Oct 30, 2019
Old Lyme A Non-Fiction 900
940.5451 KUR
On Shelf
Old Saybrook/Acton Adult Non-Fiction
940.5451 KURSON
On Holdshelf
Orange/Case Adult Nonfiction Book
940.5451 Kurson
On Shelf
Wallingford Adult Nonfiction
940.5451 KURSON
Due Oct 30, 2019
West Haven Louis Piantino Adult Non-fiction
940.5451 KUR
On Holdshelf
West Haven Main Adult Non-fiction
940.5451 KUR
On Shelf
Westbrook Adult Non-Fiction
940.545 KUR
On Shelf
Woodbridge Adult NF 900-999
940.5451/KUR
On Holdshelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
0375508589 (alk. paper)
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 7.1, 21 Points

Notes

Bibliography
Includes bibliographical references (p.[337]-344) and index.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Kurson, R. (2004). Shadow divers: the true adventure of two Americans who risked everything to solve one of the last mysteries of World War II. New York: Random House.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Kurson, Robert. 2004. Shadow Divers: The True Adventure of Two Americans Who Risked Everything to Solve One of the Last Mysteries of World War II. New York: Random House.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Kurson, Robert, Shadow Divers: The True Adventure of Two Americans Who Risked Everything to Solve One of the Last Mysteries of World War II. New York: Random House, 2004.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Kurson, Robert. Shadow Divers: The True Adventure of Two Americans Who Risked Everything to Solve One of the Last Mysteries of World War II. New York: Random House, 2004. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
828c588d-a838-9e27-635f-cd3d67e73e07
Go To GroupedWork
Last Sierra Extract TimeSep 19, 2019 09:30:58 AM
Last File Modification TimeSep 19, 2019 09:31:45 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeSep 19, 2019 09:31:14 AM

MARC Record

LEADER05177cam a22006974a 4500
003LION
00520041229181525.0
008030813s2004    nyuaf    b    001 0deng  
010 |a  2003060362
020 |a 0375508589 (alk. paper)
035 |a (LION)2048781
040 |a DLC|c DLC|d DLC
042 |a pcc
043 |a n-us-nj|a e-gx---
05000|a VA515.U158|b K87 2004
08200|a 940.54/51|2 22
1001 |a Kurson, Robert.
24510|a Shadow divers :|b the true adventure of two Americans who risked everything to solve one of the last mysteries of World War II /|c by Robert Kurson.
250 |a 1st ed.
260 |a New York :|b Random House,|c c2004.
300 |a xi, 375 p., [24] p. of plates ;|b ill. (some col.),|c 24 cm.
504 |a Includes bibliographical references (p.[337]-344) and index.
61020|a U-869 (Submarine)
650 0|a Excavations (Archaeology)|z New Jersey.
60010|a Nagle, Bill,|d 1952-1993.
60010|a Chatterton, John.
650 0|a World War, 1939-1945|x Naval operations|x Submarine.
650 0|a World War, 1939-1945|x Naval operations, German.
650 0|a Shipwrecks|z New Jersey.
650 0|a Underwater archaeology|z New Jersey.
650 0|a Deep diving|z New Jersey.
85642|3 Contributor biographical information|u http://www.loc.gov/catdir/bios/random051/2003060362.html|y Contributor biographical information.
85641|3 Sample text|u http://www.loc.gov/catdir/samples/random051/2003060362.html|y Sample text.
85642|3 Publisher description|u http://www.loc.gov/catdir/description/random051/2003060362.html|y Publisher description.
907 |a .b10200782|b 09-13-19|c 07-31-06
998 |a br|a ra|a eh|a el|a ex|a ha|a hm|a hw|a iv|a lb|a lg|a me|a ml|a md|a nb|a nh|a nw|a ol|a os|a or|a (2)wa|a wl|a wm|a ws|a wd|b 08-01-06|c m|d a |e -|f eng|g nyu|h 0|i 28
945 |a 940.54 KUR|g 1|h  - - |i 20701662591|j 1|l bran |n Re-entered 12/18/2015--G.G.|o -|p $27.00|q -|r -|s - |t 2|u 4|v 1|w 0|x 3|y .i55672231|z 12-18-15
945 |a 940.54 KUR|g 1|h 10-30-19|i 33300000242664|j 3|l raan |n NEW NOVEMBER 2004|o -|p $26.95|q -|r -|s - |t 2|u 24|v 2|w 1|x 0|y .i10512330|z 07-31-06
945 |a 940.54 KUR|g 1|h  - - |i 22800834065|j 5|l ehan |o -|p $26.95|q -|r -|s - |t 2|u 1|v 0|w 1|x 0|y .i59759148|z 11-15-17
945 |a 940.5451 Kurson|g 1|h 10-30-19|i 20602141254|j 4|l elan |n 8-7-04|o -|p $26.95|q -|r -|s - |t 2|u 33|v 6|w 1|x 1|y .i10512354|z 07-31-06
945 |a 940.54 KUR|g 1|h  - - |i 21500526041|j 6|l exan |n P. 8/4/2004|o -|p $0.00|q -|r -|s - |t 2|u 34|v 4|w 0|x 2|y .i10512366|z 07-31-06
945 |a 940.5451 KUR |g 0|h 10-30-19|i 36439000505162|j 8|l haan |o -|p $0.00|q -|r -|s - |t 2|u 7|v 0|w 1|x 0|y .i31259649|z 02-15-08
945 |a 940.545/KUR|g 1|h  - - |i 31200006196249|j 35|l hmanb|o -|p $26.95|q -|r -|s - |t 2|u 40|v 1|w 0|x 1|y .i51576090|z 07-17-14
945 |a 940.545/KUR|g 1|h  - - |i 31200006561855|j 35|l hwan |o -|p $14.95|q -|r -|s - |t 2|u 4|v 0|w 0|x 0|y .i51576107|z 07-17-14
945 |a 940.54 Kur|g 1|h  - - |i 21500542827|j 9|l ivan |o -|p $0.00|q -|r -|s - |t 2|u 21|v 6|w 0|x 0|y .i10512391|z 07-31-06
945 |a 940.54 Kur|g 1|h 10-30-19|i 20801831955|j 10|l lban |o -|p $26.95|q -|r -|s - |t 2|u 27|v 9|w 2|x 1|y .i10512317|z 07-31-06
945 |a 940.54 Kur|g 1|h 10-30-19|i 20801818892|j 10|l lgan |o -|p $26.95|q -|r -|s - |t 2|u 35|v 6|w 1|x 1|y .i10512378|z 07-31-06
945 |a 940.5451 KU|g 1|h  - - |i 20903917724|j 12|l mean |m Tue Sep 10 2019 10:07AM: IN TRANSIT from mecirc to nl |n 7/04 B&T 26.95/14.82 SAGE FUND|o -|p $26.95|q -|r -|s t |t 2|u 25|v 4|w 0|x 0|y .i10512421|z 07-31-06
945 |a 940.5451 KURSON|g 1|h  - - |i 34130000225719|j 36|l mla |o -|p $26.95|q -|r -|s - |t 2|u 3|v 1|w 2|x 1|y .i55811346|z 01-07-16
945 |a 940.5451 KUR|g 1|h 10-30-19|i 21404387040|j 13|l mdan |o -|p $26.95|q -|r -|s - |t 2|u 47|v 12|w 1|x 0|y .i1051241x|z 07-31-06
945 |a 940.54 Kurson|g 1|h  - - |i 31278001933287|j 26|l nban |n Atwater Library|o -|p $26.95|q -|r -|s - |t 2|u 22|v 4|w 1|x 1|y .i41284082|z 06-01-11
945 |a 940.5451 Kurson|g 1|h  - - |i 31216002779911|j 28|l nhan |o -|p $26.95|q -|r -|s - |t 167|u 20|v 0|w 0|x 0|y .i41284094|z 06-01-11
945 |a 940.5451 KUR |g 0|h 10-30-19|i 21202914920|j 16|l nwan |n 5/1/07|o -|p $27.00|q -|r -|s - |t 2|u 10|v 1|w 1|x 1|y .i29489763|z 04-12-07
945 |a 940.5451 KUR|g 1|h  - - |i 22000908719|j 17|l olan9|o -|p $27.00|q -|r -|s - |t 2|u 27|v 0|w 2|x 0|y .i10512457|z 07-31-06
945 |a 940.5451 KURSON|g 1|h  - - |i 33520000697522|j 33|l osan |o -|p $26.95|q -|r -|s ! |t 2|u 8|v 0|w 1|x 2|y .i47628224|z 04-24-13
945 |a 940.5451 Kurson|g 1|h  - - |i 32159001372206|j 25|l oran |o -|p $26.95|q -|r -|s - |t 2|u 37|v 4|w 1|x 0|y .i32674223|z 06-19-08
945 |a 940.5451 KURSON|g 1|h 10-30-19|i 21705069834|j 19|l waan |o -|p $25.00|q -|r -|s - |t 2|u 24|v 3|w 1|x 0|y .i10512470|z 07-31-06
945 |a 940.5451 KUR|g 1|h  - - |i 31251002764423|j 29|l wlan |o -|p $27.00|q -|r -|s ! |t 167|u 11|v 0|w 0|x 0|y .i41284112|z 06-01-11
945 |a 940.5451 KUR|g 1|h  - - |i 31251002764258|j 29|l wman |o -|p $26.95|q -|r -|s - |t 167|u 21|v 0|w 0|x 0|y .i41284124|z 06-01-11
945 |a 940.545 KUR|g 1|h  - - |i 21600534304|j 20|l wsan |o -|p $26.95|q -|r -|s - |t 2|u 9|v 7|w 0|x 0|y .i10512500|z 07-31-06
945 |a 940.5451/KUR|g 1|h  - - |i 21801675498|j 21|l wdan9|o -|p $26.95|q -|r -|s ! |t 2|u 29|v 5|w 0|x 1|y .i10512494|z 07-31-06