The double bass blues
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Contributors:
Gutierrez, Rudy, illustrator.
Published:
New York : Alfred A. Knopf, 2019.
Format:
Book
Edition:
First edition.
Physical Desc:
1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 26 cm.
Rating:
AD270L
Status:

4 copies on order.
Description
A Caldecott Honor Book! A joyous celebration of family, community, and the unifying power of music, perfect for fans of Last Stop on Market Street . Nic is an aspiring musician whose life spans two different worlds--his suburban school where he wows his friends in orchestra, and the busy city streets of his home where he's jostled by the crowd. Nic makes his way home from a busy day at school with a double bass on his back, the symphony of his surroundings in his heart, and a sweet surprise for the reader at the end of his journey. This is a sweet, melodious picture book about how dedication, music, and family can overcome any obstacle.
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Essex Children's Picture Books
JE LONEY
In Process
Location
Call Number
Status
North Haven Children's Picture Book
j E Loney, Andrea J.
In Transit
Wallingford Children's Picture Books
E LONEY
On Shelf
Woodbridge Juv. Picture Books
E LONEY (CALDECOTT)
On Shelf
Location
Call Number
Status
East Lyme Public Library On Order
ON ORDER
On Order
Hamden Public Libraries On Order
ON ORDER
On Order
Meriden Public Library On Order
ON ORDER
On Order
West Haven Public Library On Order
ON ORDER
On Order
More Like This
More Details
Street Date:
1909.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781524718527, 1524718521, 9781524718534, 152471853X
Lexile code:
AD: Adult Directed
Lexile measure:
270

Notes

Description
After school orchestra practice, young Nic carries his double bass through rough neighborhoods to his grandfather's home, where he and Grandaddy Nic play jazz music with friends, delighting the neighbors.
Target Audience
AD270L,Lexile.
Target Audience
Decoding demand: 52 (medium),Semantic demand: 56 (medium),Syntactic demand: 21 (low),Structure demand: 83 (very high),Lexile.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Loney, A. J., & Gutierrez, R. (2019). The double bass blues. First edition. New York: Alfred A. Knopf.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Loney, Andrea J. and Rudy, Gutierrez. 2019. The Double Bass Blues. New York: Alfred A. Knopf.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Loney, Andrea J. and Rudy, Gutierrez, The Double Bass Blues. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2019.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Loney, Andrea J.,, and Rudy Gutierrez. The Double Bass Blues. First edition. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2019. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
a9bb6879-f9a8-3251-eb22-9b5e8fe74c3f
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeFeb 28, 2020 04:35:29 PM
Last File Modification TimeFeb 28, 2020 04:35:58 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeFeb 28, 2020 04:35:53 PM

MARC Record

LEADER02561cam a2200517 i 4500
001ocm04172290
003OCoLC
00520190919024808.0
008170630s2019    nyua   a      000 1 eng  
010 |a  2017018472
020 |a 9781524718527|q (trade)
020 |a 1524718521|q (trade)
020 |a 9781524718534|q (library binding)
020 |a 152471853X|q (library binding)
040 |a DLC|b eng|e rda|c DLC|d OCLCQ|d YDX|d BIB|d WD
042 |a pcc|a lcac
049 |a BIBA
05000|a PZ7.1.L6645|b Dou 2019
08200|a [E]|2 23
1001 |a Loney, Andrea J.,|e author.
24514|a The double bass blues /|c by Andrea Loney ; illustrated by Rudy Gutierrez.
250 |a First edition.
263 |a 1909.
264 1|a New York :|b Alfred A. Knopf,|c 2019.
300 |a 1 volume (unpaged) :|b color illustrations ;|c 26 cm.
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent.
336 |a still image|b sti|2 rdacontent.
337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia.
338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier.
520 |a After school orchestra practice, young Nic carries his double bass through rough neighborhoods to his grandfather's home, where he and Grandaddy Nic play jazz music with friends, delighting the neighbors.
5218 |a AD270L|b Lexile.
5213 |a Decoding demand: 52 (medium)|a Semantic demand: 56 (medium)|a Syntactic demand: 21 (low)|a Structure demand: 83 (very high)|b Lexile.
650 1|a Double bass|v Fiction.
650 1|a Musicians|v Fiction.
650 1|a Bands (Music)|v Fiction.
650 1|a Grandfathers|v Fiction.
650 1|a Neighborhoods|v Fiction.
650 1|a African Americans|v Fiction.
7001 |a Gutierrez, Rudy,|e illustrator.
77608|i Online version:|a Loney, Andrea J.|t Double bass blues.|b First edition.|d New York : Alfred A. Knopf, 2019|z 9781524718541|w (DLC) 2017036505.
907 |a .b26318441|b 02-24-20|c 10-31-19
998 |a el|a ex|a hm|a me|a md|a (2)nh|a (2)wa|a wm|a (2)wd|b 10-31-19|c m|d a |e -|f eng|g nyu|h 4|i 12
945 |a JE LONEY |g 0|h  - - |i 21501187005|j 6|l exjpb|n P 11/19|o -|p $15.00|q -|r -|s r |t 36|u 0|v 0|w 0|x 0|y .i63591467|z 11-15-19
945 |a j E Loney, Andrea J. |g 0|h  - - |i 31216004038167|j 28|l nhje |m Tue Feb 25 2020 09:43AM: IN TRANSIT from hwcircc to nhje |o -|p $17.99|q -|r -|s t |t 167|u 2|v 1|w 2|x 0|y .i63520321|z 10-30-19
945 |a E LONEY |g 0|h  - - |i 21707701922|j 19|l wajpb|o -|p $16.00|q -|r -|s - |t 36|u 2|v 1|w 1|x 1|y .i63524946|z 10-31-19
945 |a E LONEY (CALDECOTT)|g 1|h  - - |i 21802566998|j 21|l wdjpb|o -|p $17.99|q -|r -|s - |t 36|u 0|v 0|w 0|x 0|y .i63923324|z 02-12-20