The silence between us
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
Grand Rapids, Michigan : Blink, [2019].
Format:
Book
Physical Desc:
317 pages ; 22 cm.
Status:

1 copy on order.
Essex Young Adult Fiction
YA GERVAIS
Description

"The Silence Between Us is eminently un-put-down-able." (NPR)

Schneider Family Book Award, Best Teen Honor Book 2020

"This is a great YA contemporary (clean) romance that follows Maya as she navigates a new school and plans for her future. The addition of representation by a Deaf character was really beautifully done. Highly recommend for people looking for a sweet, engaging, and educational romantic read." (YA and Kids Book Central)

#OwnVoices YA novel features Deaf / Hard of Hearing Community

"It's time we see more Deaf characters in books. It's time we see more books celebrating sign language and Deaf culture," said author Alison Gervais.

Deaf teen Maya moves across the country and must attend a hearing school for the first time. As if that wasn't hard enough, she also has to adjust to the hearing culture, which she finds frustrating--and also surprising when some classmates, including Beau Watson, take time to learn ASL. As Maya looks past graduation and focuses on her future dreams, nothing, not even an unexpected romance, will not derail her pursuits. But when people in her life--Deaf and hearing alike--ask her to question parts of her Deaf identity, Maya stands proudly, never giving in to the idea that her Deafness is a disadvantage.

The Silence Between Us:

Features a Deaf protagonist and an #OwnVoices perspective on Deaf and Hard of Hearing culture Is a clean YA romance by Wattpad sensation Alison Gervais Is perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and CeCe Bell
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Essex Young Adult Fiction
YA GERVAIS
On Shelf
Location
Call Number
Status
Meriden Teen Center
YA FIC GERVAIS
In Process
Middlefield/Coe YA Collection
YA FIC Gervais
On Shelf
Middletown/Russell NEW Young Adult Book
YA-GERVAIS
On Shelf
Location
Call Number
Status
East Lyme Public Library On Order
ON ORDER
On Order
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780310766162, 0310766168
Accelerated Reader:
MG+
Level 6.3, 11 Points

Notes

General Note
Includes discussion questions.
Description
Maya has reservations about transferring to a hearing school after studying in a school for the deaf for years, but grows closer to Beau Watson, the student body president, who starts learning sign language to communicate with her.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Gervais, A. (2019). The silence between us. Grand Rapids, Michigan: Blink.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Gervais, Alison. 2019. The Silence between Us. Grand Rapids, Michigan: Blink.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Gervais, Alison, The Silence between Us. Grand Rapids, Michigan: Blink, 2019.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Gervais, Alison. The Silence between Us. Grand Rapids, Michigan: Blink, 2019. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
32bdcf5b-d424-e90d-04c6-9afe7c490262
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeFeb 25, 2020 08:08:25 PM
Last File Modification TimeFeb 25, 2020 08:08:48 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeFeb 25, 2020 08:08:37 PM

MARC Record

LEADER01882nam a2200373 i 4500
00520190802121530.0
008190801s2019    miu    j      000 1 eng d
010 |a bl2019022644
020 |a 9780310766162|c 17.99
020 |a 0310766168|c 17.99
037 |b Harpercollins Focus, 53 Glenmaura National Blvd Ste 300, Moosaic, PA, USA, 18507-2132|n SAN 200-2086
040 |a NjBwBT|b eng|e rda|c NjBwBT
05014|a PZ7.1.G47497|b Sil 2019
08204|a [Fic]|2 23
092 |a FIC
1001 |a Gervais, Alison,|e author.
24514|a The silence between us /|c Alison Gervais.
264 1|a Grand Rapids, Michigan :|b Blink,|c [2019]
300 |a 317 pages ;|c 22 cm.
336 |a text|2 rdacontent.
337 |a unmediated|2 rdamedia.
338 |a volume|2 rdacarrier.
500 |a Includes discussion questions.
520 |a Maya has reservations about transferring to a hearing school after studying in a school for the deaf for years, but grows closer to Beau Watson, the student body president, who starts learning sign language to communicate with her.
650 1|a Deaf|v Fiction.
650 1|a Interpersonal relations|v Fiction.
650 1|a High schools|v Fiction.
650 1|a Schools|v Fiction.
907 |a .b2625539x|b 02-25-20|c 08-26-19
998 |a el|a ex|a (2)me|a ml|a (2)md|b 09-06-19|c m|d a |e -|f eng|g miu|h 4|i 7
945 |a YA GERVAIS |g 0|h  - - |i 21501186841|j 6|l exyf |n P 11/19|o -|p $15.00|q -|r -|s - |t 70|u 0|v 0|w 0|x 0|y .i6360310x|z 11-19-19
945 |a YA FIC GERVAIS |g 0|h  - - |i 20905707079|j 12|l mey |n 2/20 B&T 17.99/9.57|o -|p $9.57|q -|r -|s r |t 70|u 0|v 0|w 0|x 0|y .i6397809x|z 02-25-20
945 |a YA FIC Gervais |g 0|h  - - |i 34130000500772|j 36|l mly |o -|p $17.99|q -|r -|s - |t 70|u 0|v 0|w 0|x 0|y .i63237350|z 08-27-19
945 |a YA-GERVAIS |g 1|h  - - |i 21406684700|j 13|l mdd |o -|p $18.00|q -|r -|s - |t 70|u 2|v 2|w 0|x 2|y .i6348481x|z 10-22-19