Due to limitations imposed by the pandemic, we ask that you place no more than 20 holds per card.

The afterwards
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Contributors:
Gravett, Emily, illustrator.
Published:
New York : Bloomsbury Children's Books, 2019.
Format:
Book
Physical Desc:
197 pages : illustrations ; 21 cm
Status:
Essex Children's Fiction
J HARROLD
Description

From the acclaimed team behind The Imaginary comes another powerful, poignant, and darkly fantastical story about friendship, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Roald Dahl.

Ember and Ness are best friends, completely inseparable. Ember can't imagine what life would be without Ness. Until Ness dies, in a most sudden and unexpected way. Ember feels completely empty. How can this even be real?

Then Ember finds a way into the afterworld-a place where the recently dead reside. She knows there must be a way to bring Ness back, so she decides to find it. Because that's what friends do: rescue each other. But the afterworld holds its own dangers. How far will Ember go to make things the way they were again?

Paired with enchanting illustrations from Emily Gravett, A. F. Harrold's powerfully woven tale explores the lengths we go to for the people we love.

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Essex Children's Fiction
J HARROLD
On Shelf
Location
Call Number
Status
Branford/Blackstone Juv. Fiction
JFiction
On Shelf
East Hampton Juvenile Fiction
JF HAR
On Shelf
Hamden/Brundage Community Children's Fiction
J/FIC/HARROLD
In Process
Hamden/Miller Children's Fiction
J/FIC/HARROLD
On Shelf
Ivoryton Children's Fiction
J HARR
On Shelf
New London Juv. Fiction
JF HARROLD
On Shelf
North Haven Children's Fiction
j Fiction Harrold, A.F.
On Shelf
Old Saybrook/Acton Juvenile Fiction
J HARROLD
On Shelf
Wallingford Children's Fiction
J HARROLD
On Shelf
Woodbridge Juv. Fiction
J HARROLD (TWEEN)
On Shelf
More Like This
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781547600441, 1547600446
Accelerated Reader:
MG
Level 4.6, 4 Points
Lexile measure:
690

Notes

Description
When her best friend, Ness, dies suddenly, Ember finds a way into the Afterworld, determined to bring Ness back.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Harrold, A. F., & Gravett, E. (2019). The afterwards. New York: Bloomsbury Children's Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Harrold, A. F., 1975- and Emily, Gravett. 2019. The Afterwards. New York: Bloomsbury Children's Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Harrold, A. F., 1975- and Emily, Gravett, The Afterwards. New York: Bloomsbury Children's Books, 2019.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Harrold, A. F., and Emily Gravett. The Afterwards. New York: Bloomsbury Children's Books, 2019. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
977e0427-345a-098b-40f8-a7e14a81723b
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeAug 29, 2020 10:42:47 AM
Last File Modification TimeSep 01, 2020 10:30:09 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeSep 01, 2020 08:30:49 PM

MARC Record

LEADER02956nam a2200505 i 4500
003DLC
00520180714122336.0
008180713s2019    nyua   c      000 1 eng  
010 |a 2018026731
020 |a 9781547600441
020 |a 1547600446
037 |b Bloomsbury Childrens Books, C/O Mps 16365 James Madison Hwy, Gordonsville, VA, USA, 22942|n SAN 631-5011
040 |a DLC|b eng|e rda|c DLC|d WD
05000|a PZ7.H256187|b Aft 2019
08200|a [Fic]|2 23
092 |a FIC
1001 |a Harrold, A. F.,|d 1975-|e author.
24514|a The afterwards /|c A.F. Harrold ; illustrated by Emily Gravett.
264 1|a New York :|b Bloomsbury Children's Books,|c 2019.
300 |a 197 pages :|b illustrations ;|c 21 cm
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent
337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia
338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier
520 |a When her best friend, Ness, dies suddenly, Ember finds a way into the Afterworld, determined to bring Ness back.
650 0|a Death|v Juvenile fiction.
650 0|a Future life|v Juvenile fiction.
650 0|a Best friends|v Juvenile fiction.
650 0|a Friendship|v Juvenile fiction.
650 0|a Supernatural|v Juvenile fiction.
7001 |a Gravett, Emily,|e illustrator.
77608|i Online version
77608|a Harrold, A. F., 1975- author|t Afterwards|d New York : Bloomsbury, 2019|z 9781547600489|w (DLC) 2018033922
907 |a .b26061193|b 07-08-20|c 01-30-19
998 |a br|a eh|a ex|a (2)hc|a (2)hm|a iv|a nl|a nh|a (2)os|a (2)wa|a (2)wd|b 02-11-19|c m|d a |e -|f eng|g nyu|h 4|i 16
945 |a JFiction |g 1|h  - - |i 20702904010|j 1|l brjf |o -|p $16.00|q -|r -|s - |t 36|u 1|v 0|w 0|x 1|y .i62647465|z 04-10-19
945 |a JF HAR |g 0|h  - - |i 22801532486|j 5|l ehjf |o -|p $17.99|q -|r -|s - |t 36|u 2|v 2|w 0|x 2|y .i62566039|z 03-25-19
945 |a J HARROLD |g 0|h  - - |i 21501191494|j 6|l exjf |n P 3/20|o -|p $15.00|q -|r -|s - |t 36|u 0|v 0|w 0|x 0|y .i64007121|z 03-03-20
945 |a J/FIC/HARROLD|g 0|h  - - |i 31200500260467|j 35|l hcjf |o -|p $17.99|q -|r -|s r |t 36|u 0|v 0|w 0|x 0|y .i63133192|z 07-30-19
945 |a J/FIC/HARROLD|g 0|h  - - |i 31200500274336|j 35|l hmjf |o -|p $17.99|q -|r -|s - |t 36|u 2|v 1|w 1|x 1|y .i63535737|z 11-04-19
945 |a J HARR |g 0|h  - - |i 21507081293|j 9|l ivjf |o -|p $18.00|q -|r -|s - |t 36|u 0|v 0|w 0|x 0|y .i64316166|z 07-08-20
945 |a JF HARROLD |g 0|h  - - |i 21302552662|j 15|l nljf |o -|p $17.99|q -|r -|s - |t 36|u 0|v 0|w 0|x 0|y .i62875322|z 05-31-19
945 |a j Fiction Harrold, A.F. |g 0|h  - - |i 31216004006453|j 28|l nhjf |o -|p $17.99|q -|r -|s - |t 167|u 1|v 0|w 0|x 1|y .i62985656|z 06-25-19
945 |a J HARROLD |g 0|h  - - |i 33520001324415|j 33|l osjf |o -|p $18.00|q -|r -|s - |t 36|u 2|v 2|w 0|x 2|y .i62567871|z 03-25-19
945 |a J HARROLD |g 0|h  - - |i 21707650988|j 19|l wajf |o -|p $18.00|q -|r -|s - |t 36|u 0|v 0|w 0|x 0|y .i62554621|z 03-21-19
945 |a J HARROLD (TWEEN)|g 1|h  - - |i 21802584488|j 21|l wdjf |o -|p $17.99|q -|r -|s - |t 36|u 2|v 0|w 0|x 2|y .i62642467|z 04-09-19