Let's go swimming on doomsday
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
New York, NY : G.P. Putnam's Sons, [2019].
Format:
Book
Physical Desc:
458 pages ; 22 cm.
Status:
Essex Young Adult Fiction
YA ANDERSON
Description
Forced to become a child soldier, a sixteen-year-old Somali refugee must confront his painful past in this haunting, thrilling tale of loss and redemption for fans of A Long Way Gone and What is the What When Abdi's family is kidnapped, he's forced to do the unthinkable: become a child soldier with the ruthless jihadi group Al Shabaab. In order to save the lives of those he loves, and earn their freedom, Abdi agrees to be embedded as a spy within the militia's ranks and to send dispatches on their plans to the Americans. The jihadists trust Abdi immediately because his older brother, Dahir, is already one of them, protégé to General Idris, aka the Butcher. If Abdi's duplicity is discovered, he will be killed. For weeks, Abdi trains with them, witnessing atrocity after atrocity, becoming a monster himself, wondering if he's even pretending anymore. He only escapes after he is forced into a suicide bomber's vest, which still leaves him stumps where two of his fingers used to be and his brother near death. Eventually, he finds himself on the streets of Sangui City, Kenya, stealing what he can find to get by, sleeping nights in empty alleyways, wondering what's become of the family that was stolen from him. But everything changes when Abdi's picked up for a petty theft, which sets into motion a chain reaction that forces him to reckon with a past he's been trying to forget. In this riveting, unflinching tale of sacrifice and hope, critically-acclaimed author Natalie C. Anderson delivers another tour-de-force that will leave readers at the edge of their seats.
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Essex Young Adult Fiction
YA ANDERSON
On Shelf
Location
Call Number
Status
East Hampton Young Adult Fiction
YA FIC AND
On Shelf
Guilford New YA
YA ANDERSON
Due Apr 6, 2019
Wallingford Young Adult Fiction
YA ANDERSON
On Shelf
Westbrook Young Adult Fiction
YA F AND
On Shelf
More Like This
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780399547614, 0399547614

Notes

Description
"Forced to become a child soldier, sixteen-year-old Somali refugee Abdi, must confront his painful past"--,Provided by publisher.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Anderson, N. C. (2019). Let's go swimming on doomsday. New York, NY: G.P. Putnam's Sons.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Anderson, Natalie C.. 2019. Let's Go Swimming On Doomsday. New York, NY: G.P. Putnam's Sons.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Anderson, Natalie C., Let's Go Swimming On Doomsday. New York, NY: G.P. Putnam's Sons, 2019.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Anderson, Natalie C.. Let's Go Swimming On Doomsday. New York, NY: G.P. Putnam's Sons, 2019. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
113cf0a8-9224-e2fa-8c93-10a5a90e1cf9
Go To Grouped Work
Last File Modification Time Mar 16, 2019 08:32:57 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification Time Mar 16, 2019 08:30:48 AM

MARC Record

LEADER01991pam a2200445 i 4500
003DLC
00520190114090605.0
008180621s2019    nyu    c      000 1 eng d
010 |a 2018023326
020 |a 9780399547614 |c 18.99
020 |a 0399547614 |c 18.99
037 |b Penguin Group USA, Order Processing Dept 120 Woodbine st, Bergenfield, NJ, USA, 07621 |n SAN 201-3975
040 |a DLC |b eng |e rda |c DLC |d NjBwBT |d WAL
05000 |a PZ7.A528 |b Let 2019
08200 |a [Fic] |2 23
092 |a FIC
1001 |a Anderson, Natalie C., |e author.
24510 |a Let's go swimming on doomsday / |c Natalie C. Anderson.
2463 |a Let us go swimming on doomsday.
264 1 |a New York, NY : |b G.P. Putnam's Sons, |c [2019]
300 |a 458 pages ; |c 22 cm.
336 |a text |b txt |2 rdacontent.
337 |a unmediated |b n |2 rdamedia.
338 |a volume |b nc |2 rdacarrier.
520 |a "Forced to become a child soldier, sixteen-year-old Somali refugee Abdi, must confront his painful past"-- |c Provided by publisher.
650 1 |a Child soldiers |v Fiction.
650 1 |a Refugees |v Fiction.
650 1 |a Spies |v Fiction.
650 1 |a Islamic fundamentalism |v Fiction.
650 1 |a Terrorism |v Fiction.
650 1 |a Brothers |v Fiction.
651 1 |a Somalia |v Fiction.
651 1 |a Kenya |v Fiction.
907 |a .b26046040 |b 02-27-19 |c 01-15-19
998 |a eh |a ex |a gu |a (2)wa |a ws |b 01-31-19 |c m |d a |e - |f eng |g nyu |h 0 |i 6
945 |a YA FIC AND |g 0 |i 22801529326 |j 5 |l ehyf |o - |p $18.99 |q - |r - |s - |t 70 |u 1 |v 0 |w 1 |x 0 |y .i62459107 |z 02-27-19
945 |a YA ANDERSON |g 0 |i 21501107110 |j 6 |l exyf |n P 2/19 |o - |p $15.00 |q - |r - |s - |t 70 |u 0 |v 0 |w 0 |x 0 |y .i62405950 |z 02-14-19
945 |a YA ANDERSON |g 0 |i 20503648709 |j 7 |l gud |o - |p $18.99 |q - |r - |s - |t 70 |u 1 |v 1 |w 1 |x 0 |y .i6238465x |z 02-08-19
945 |a YA ANDERSON |g 0 |i 21707622987 |j 19 |l wayf |o - |p $19.00 |q - |r - |s - |t 70 |u 0 |v 0 |w 0 |x 0 |y .i62323453 |z 01-25-19
945 |a YA F AND |g 0 |i 21600805804 |j 20 |l wsyf |o - |p $19.00 |q - |r - |s - |t 70 |u 0 |v 0 |w 0 |x 0 |y .i62285026 |z 01-16-19