Cloud atlas : [a novel]
(eAudiobook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
New York : Books on Tape, 2011, 2005., [Prince Frederick, Md.] :
Format:
eAudiobook
Edition:
Unabridged.
Physical Desc:
1 sound file (19 hr., 51 min.) : digital., Downloadable applications available for access via iOS 4.0+ devices (iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch) and Android 2.1+ devices.
Status:
RBDigital
Description
By the New York Times bestselling author of The Bone Clocks | Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize A postmodern visionary and one of the leading voices in twenty-first-century fiction, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian love of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending, philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco, Haruki Murakami, and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction as profound as it is playful. In this groundbreaking novel, an influential favorite among a new generation of writers, Mitchell explores with daring artistry fundamental questions of reality and identity. Cloud Atlas begins in 1850 with Adam Ewing, an American notary voyaging from the Chatham Isles to his home in California. Along the way, Ewing is befriended by a physician, Dr. Goose, who begins to treat him for a rare species of brain parasite. . . . Abruptly, the action jumps to Belgium in 1931, where Robert Frobisher, a disinherited bisexual composer, contrives his way into the household of an infirm maestro who has a beguiling wife and a nubile daughter. . . . From there we jump to the West Coast in the 1970s and a troubled reporter named Luisa Rey, who stumbles upon a web of corporate greed and murder that threatens to claim her life. . . . And onward, with dazzling virtuosity, to an inglorious present-day Engl∧ to a Korean superstate of the near future where neocapitalism has run amok; and, finally, to a postapocalyptic Iron Age Hawaii in the last days of history. But the story doesn't end even there. The narrative then boomerangs back through centuries and space, returning by the same route, in reverse, to its starting point. Along the way, Mitchell reveals how his disparate characters connect, how their fates intertwine, and how their souls drift across time like clouds across the sky. As wild as a videogame, as mysterious as a Zen koan, Cloud Atlas is an unforgettable tour de force that, like its incomparable author, has transcended its cult classic status to become a worldwide phenomenon. List of Readers: The Pacific Journal of Adam Ewing , read by Scott Brick Letters From Zedelghem , read by Richard Matthews Half-Lives: The First Luisa Rey Mystery , read by Cassandra Campbell The Ghastly Ordeal of Timothy Cavendish , read by John Lee An Orison of Sonmi~451 , read by Kim Mai Guest Sloosha's Crossin' an' Ev'rythin' After , read by Kirby Heyborne
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781415951613, 1415951616
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 6.5, 27 Points
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Mitchell, D. (20112005). Cloud atlas: [a novel]. Unabridged. New York: Books on Tape.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Mitchell, David. 20112005. Cloud Atlas: [a Novel]. New York: Books on Tape.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Mitchell, David, Cloud Atlas: [a Novel]. New York: Books on Tape, 20112005.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Mitchell, David. Cloud Atlas: [a Novel]. Unabridged. New York: Books on Tape, 20112005.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
25d78341-7baa-3f6e-6070-520fbaa9b43b
Go To Grouped Work
Last File Modification Time May 28, 2019 10:46:22 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification Time Aug 22, 2019 10:32:39 PM

MARC Record

LEADER02649nim a22005291i 4500
001rbz100012101
003CtWfDGI
00520120503153933.0
006m        h        
007sz zunnnnnuneu
007cr nnannnuuuua
008110912r20112005nyunnn  o      f  n eng d
020 |a 9781415951613
020 |a 1415951616
02801 |a Z100012101 |b Recorded Books
040 |a CtWfDGI |b eng |e rda |c CtWfDGI
05014 |a PR6063.I785 |b C58 2011eb
08204 |a 823/.92 |2 22
1001 |a Mitchell, David |q (David Stephen) |e author.
24510 |a Cloud atlas : |b [a novel] / |c David Mitchell.
250 |a Unabridged.
264 1 |a New York : |b Books on Tape, |c 2011, 2005.
264 2 |a [Prince Frederick, Md.] : |b [Distributed by] OneClick Digital, |c 2011, 2005.
300 |a 1 sound file (19 hr., 51 min.) : |b digital.
336 |a spoken word |b spw |2 rdacontent
337 |a audio |b s |2 rdamedia
337 |a computer |b c |2 rdamedia
338 |a online resource |b cr |2 rdacarrier
344 |a digital |h Digital recording |2 rda
347 |a data file |2 rda
538 |a Mode of access: World Wide Web.
538 |a Requires OneClick Digital Media Manager.
538 |a System requirements: 200 MB of free disk space, 512 MB of RAM, Windows Installer 3.1, Microsoft .NET Framework 4 (x86 and x64), Windows Media Player 10 QA.
500 |a Downloadable audio file.
506 |a Access restricted to subscribing institutions.
530 |a Downloadable applications available for access via iOS 4.0+ devices (iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch) and Android 2.1+ devices.
520 |a In this audacious and dazzling novel, Mitchell weaves history, science, humor, and suspense through six separate but related narratives, each set in a different time and place, each written in a different prose style, and each broken mid-action only to be concluded in the second half of the book. One of the more engaging stories is set in 1930s and told via letters describing a young musician's effort to become an amanuenisis for a renowned, blind composer ... Another focuses on a book editor who finds himself accidentally imprisoned in a home for the elderly.
650 0 |a Fate and fatalism |v Fiction.
650 0 |a Reincarnation |v Fiction.
655 4 |a Downloadable audio books.
655 7 |a Fantasy fiction. |2 lcgft
7102 |a Books on Tape, Inc.
7102 |a Ingram Digital (Firm)
7761 |c Original |z 9781415951613 |w (OCoLC)ocn319166611
85640 |u https://lioninc.rbdigital.com/#titles/9781415951613
8564 |3 Image |u https://d2cv0ie6dlin9h.cloudfront.net/Z100012101/Z100012101_image_95x140.jpg
945 |c (OCoLC)319166611