Due to limitations imposed by the pandemic, we ask that you place no more than 20 holds per card.

Light it up

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Henry Holt and Company,
Pub. Date:
2019.
Edition:
First edition.
Language:
English
Description
A girl walks home from school. She's tall for her age. She's wearing her winter coat. Her headphones are in. She's hurrying. She never makes it home.In the aftermath, while law enforcement tries to justify the response, one fact remains: a police officer has shot and killed an unarmed thirteen-year-old girl. The community is thrown into upheaval, leading to unrest, a growing movement to protest the senseless taking of black lives, and the arrival of white supremacist counter demonstrators.Told in a series of vignettes from multiple viewpoints, Light It Up is a powerful, layered story about injustice and strength perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Angie Thomas--as well as an incredible follow-up to the highly acclaimed 2014 novel How It Went Down.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781250128898
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 3.7, 10 Points
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 480L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDe582232e-180f-d642-0f60-05b72d35e9e9
Grouping Titlelight it up
Grouping Authorkekla magoon
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-04 08:15:26AM
Last Indexed2020-10-31 00:35:55AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_levelUG
accelerated_reader_point_value10
accelerated_reader_reading_level3.7
authorMagoon, Kekla,
author_displayMagoon, Kekla
available_at_exEssex Library Association
detailed_location_exEssex Young Adult Fiction
display_descriptionTold from multiple viewpoints, Shae Tatum, an unarmed, thirteen-year-old black girl, is shot by a white police officer, throwing their community into upheaval and making it a target of demonstrators.
format_category_exBooks
format_exBook
ide582232e-180f-d642-0f60-05b72d35e9e9
isbn9781250128898
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b26246107.i63514242Wallingford Young Adult FictionYA MAGOON #21falsefalseOn Shelfwayf
ils:.b26246107.i63498479West Haven Main Young Adult FictionNEW YA FIC MAGOON1falsefalseOn Shelfwmyf
ils:.b26246107.i64007637Essex Young Adult FictionYA MAGOON1falsefalseOn Shelfexyf
ils:.b26246107.i63532475Meriden Teen CenterYA FIC MAGOON1falsefalseOn Shelfmey
ils:.b26246107.i63488723North Branford/Atwater Teen FictionTeen Fiction Magoon1falsefalseOn Shelfnbyf
ils:.b26246107.i63498121Middletown/Russell Young Adult FictionYA-MAGOON1falsefalseOn Shelfmdyf
ils:.b26246107.i63500851Hamden/Miller YA FictionYA/FIC/MAGOON1falsefalseOn Shelfhmyf
ils:.b26246107.i63492593Middlefield/Coe YA CollectionYA FIC Magoon1falsefalseOn Shelfmly
ils:.b26246107.i63519100Orange/Case Teen Fiction BookT Fiction Magoon1falsefalseOn Shelforyf
ils:.b26246107.i63501314Madison/Scranton Teen FictionTF MAGOON1falsefalseOn Shelfmayf
ils:.b26246107.i63497074Durham Young Adult FictionYA FIC MAGOON1falsefalseOn Shelfduyf
ils:.b26246107.i63504819Guilford YA FictionYA MAGOON1falsefalseOn Shelfguy
itype_exADULT BOOK
YA BOOK
last_indexed2020-10-31T06:35:55.567Z
lexile_codeHL: High-Low
lexile_score480
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_exYA MAGOON
owning_library_exEssex Library Association
owning_location_exEssex Library Association
primary_isbn9781250128898
publishDate2019
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b26246107BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishHenry Holt and Company, 2019.358 pages ; 22 cm
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_ex
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b26246107.i63514242On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b26246107.i63498479On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b26246107.i64007637On ShelfOn Shelftruetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b26246107.i63532475On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b26246107.i63488723On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b26246107.i63498121On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b26246107.i63500851On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b26246107.i63492593On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b26246107.i63519100On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b26246107.i63501314On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b26246107.i63497074On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b26246107.i63504819On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
subject_facetAfrican Americans -- Fiction
Death -- Fiction
Police shootings -- Fiction
Race relations -- Fiction
Witnesses -- Fiction
Young adult fiction
title_displayLight it up
title_fullLight it up / Kekla Magoon
title_shortLight it up
topic_facetAfrican Americans
Death
Police shootings
Race relations
Witnesses